WORD is bond

I recently made a verbal agreement with a businessman, in which he volunteered to compensate me for a 2 hour drive I hadn’t planned on taking. After the trip was completed, he never mentioned anything about gas money. (Neither did I)

When you tell someone you’re going to do something, you should do it. The recipient should not have to ask you OR remind you. As the old saying goes, “you don’t have to twist someone’s arm to do something they say they want to do”.

This brings to my attention how important it is to mean what you say, and say what you mean. Being a person who was once a prisoner of my own words, I would often not live by that principal. Whether that meant not calling when you said that you would or simply not telling someone they offended you, when they did. I was most afraid of offending someone (Even though they obviously didn’t care for my feelings)

If people can’t trust your word then they can’t trust you. You are undependable. Whether it’s accurate or not, your reputation often times precedes you. You don’t want to be known as a liar or an untrustworthy person.

I’m sure, at some point in life, we all have been guilty of not taking ourselves seriously. (If you don’t take yourself and your words seriously no one else will) I pledge to put thought into all of my verbal commitment and things I say in general. If I’m not going to call, I’ll say just that. (Hopefully they’ll be a nice way to say it) If I’m feeling something that needs to be shared, I’ll share it. If someone asks my opinion, they’ll get my honest opinion. (In a polite manner of course ) And because I’m not perfect and for some reason I can’t follow through, I’ll be courteous enough to give the heads up.

(But seriously I don’t like it when people commit to something they have absolutely no intention of doing)

What are your thoughts?

20130731-141353.jpg

One thought on “WORD is bond

  1. You are absolutely right about that! If your word means nothing, than what do you have? Even with the small things people take for granted like calling someone back or saying you will be somewhere and are super late. To me it sounds like he is trying to get services out of you for free. Next time ask for the money and if he is offended that you asked for it, its his problem because he offered it when asked you to come and help him he needed done. Love your posts, can’t wait to hear more from you!

What you think???