Lightpost 1

Sitting in the living room of my grandparents home in Chulahoma, MS @ 1AM. Thinking about the next chapter of my life.I’ve just spent a year in New Orleans, LA, away from all my family and anything that even resembled comfort. Didn’t do as much as I thought I would’ve creatively and experienced professional and romantic disappointments. At the very least, I can say I learned somethings and gained some invaluable experience.

Change, it’s inevitable and imperative to growth. We should not only embrace it, we should anticipate it. This place, where I stand, I feel like I’m walking down a dark dirt rock road with a flashlight at night. I feel somewhat numb, because until now I didn’t see where I’d taken any strides forward. For a minute, I felt like I’d wasted a year doing almost nothing. But to believe that, would be to be completely ungrateful for the wonderful things I was afforded to be included in.

I understand that change is coming. I’ve been isolated from everything I cling to, everything that comforts me, my loved ones.

In this time, I must grow spiritually and personally. Learn to deal with things semi-alone. Leaning on Jesus. A woman on an Island, God and myself. Sure, you always need other people; but, I believe this is a time in my life that I need to be alone. She needs to be established. I’m being called to become a stronger, wiser, more independent yet still dependent woman. I love it. For the first time in a while I feel I’ve gained a little bit of clarity. A street light just came on! 🙂

What you think???

